Bachelorhood Bliss

“If you die before me, I’m going to sell the house, buy a Class C, adopt a pound pup and just travel around until I’m dead,” Bill informed me as we were driving home from the grocery store.

“Well, why do we have to wait for me to die?” I asked.  “I’d like to get an RV and a dog and travel around too.”

“No, you wouldn’t.”

“Yes, I would.”

“Nope, not full-time you wouldn’t.  You’d hate it.”

“I loved it when we went places in Harvey, our RV.  I love to travel around, as long as I don’t have to get on an airplane,” I countered.  “Why would you assume I’d hate it?”

“Because the RV would be too small and it would drive you crazy,” he countered.  “If it was just me and Oscar… .”

“Oscar?”

“Yup, Oscar, my dog.  If it was just me and Oscar I could get a smaller Class C than the one you would want and it wouldn’t be too crowded.”

“That’s not fair,” I pouted.  “All I ask for is a couch and a pop-out.  We found a perfect RV at the last RV show we went to.  It wasn’t too big.  It had a king-sized bed and a couch to sit on to watch TV instead of having to use the kitchen table bench seats.”

“I still say you wouldn’t like living in an RV all the time.  You couldn’t have all your do-dads and clothes and shoes and other stuff.  You wouldn’t like it one little bit.”

“I don’t need a bunch of shoes and lots of clothes and do-dads and stuff.  I just need you.  And Oscar.”

“Oh.”

That seemed to shut down Bill’s dream of bachelorhood bliss.  We’re not buying an RV anytime soon.  But maybe we’ll get a dog.  A cute dachshund that we’ll name Oscar Mayer because he’s a wiener dog.


3 Comments on “Bachelorhood Bliss”

  1. wilber2000 says:

    I always see your stories as I read them. This one was no exception. My wife, of 55 up and down years, have talked about the travel thing. RV? Camper shell? Motor home? Naw, we must prefer the home life comfort. Can’t travel anyway. Grandkids, dogs, chickens, birds, tortoises, (the rabbit died), all want to eat every day. Oh well.

    Loved the story, and I think Bill would give up that bachelorhood thingy thought and stay home with you.

    • Patt says:

      <!– /* Font Definitions / @font-face {font-family:Helvetica; panose-1:2 11 5 4 2 2 2 2 2 4;} @font-face {font-family:”Cambria Math”; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4;} @font-face {font-family:Calibri; panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4;} / Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {margin:0in; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,sans-serif;} h1 {mso-style-priority:9; mso-style-link:”Heading 1 Char”; mso-margin-top-alt:auto; margin-right:0in; mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto; margin-left:0in; font-size:24.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,sans-serif; font-weight:bold;} a:link, span.MsoHyperlink {mso-style-priority:99; color:blue; text-decoration:underline;} span.Heading1Char {mso-style-name:”Heading 1 Char”; mso-style-priority:9; mso-style-link:”Heading 1″; font-family:”Calibri”,sans-serif; font-weight:bold;} p.meta, li.meta, div.meta {mso-style-name:meta; mso-margin-top-alt:auto; margin-right:0in; mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto; margin-left:0in; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,sans-serif;} p.address, li.address, div.address {mso-style-name:address; mso-margin-top-alt:auto; margin-right:0in; mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto; margin-left:0in; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,sans-serif;} span.address1 {mso-style-name:address1;} .MsoChpDefault {mso-style-type:export-only;} @page WordSection1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.0in 1.0in 1.0in;} div.WordSection1 {page:WordSection1;}


Leave a comment