Driving Miss Elaine

When Mom wakes up – whether in the morning after a full night’s sleep or after one of her many daily naps, she tools all over the house looking for signs of life.  Most of the time we’re home working in the office but, for reasons I cannot fathom, instead of checking right across the hall as soon as she emerges from her bedroom, she follows a rather circuitous path throughout the house only to end up back at the office door, looking surprised to see us in there.

Picture1

This also applies to her bathroom trips.  When she wakes up from a nap, she immediately leaves her bedroom and motors all over the place, frequently stopping to gaze out the dining room window at the invisible bird, going into the Arizona Room to see if we’re there and to check out the view through the patio door, returning to the living room and pausing by her loveseat to peruse the TV guide, swinging through the kitchen to see if we left anything interesting on the counters or kitchen table, then chugging back to her bedroom and into the master bath.  Why she doesn’t stop there before wandering aimlessly all over the house is beyond me.  Personally, that is the absolute FIRST thing I want to do when I wake up.

I asked her about this habit of ignoring her bladder in favor to taking a grand tour of the house a half a dozen times a day.  Her response was typical Mom.

“If I wanted to spent all my time in my bathroom I’d grow gills.”

I know, it doesn’t make any sense to me either.



Leave a Reply

