Weirdest Pillow Ever

“Was there a man in the hall?” Mom asked as she wheeled out of her bedroom after her morning nap.

“Nope,” I commented, swiveling my chair around to face the office doorway where she had parked.

“Well I heard a man talking to another man about selling the house.”

“Nope.  No men, no house selling,” I replied.

“But I heard them as plain as day and they were talking about what the price would be.”

“Maybe you were dreaming,” I offered.

No, I was awake.  I was laying there and I was sure I heard them.,” she said, shaking her head.  “I just don’t get it.”

“Well Mom, you’re getting older and you have a little touch of dementia and sometimes you’re going to hear things that aren’t really there.”

“No, that’s not it,” she countered unequivocally.  “It’s my pillow.  It’s really weird.”

“Your pillow is weird?  Why would you think it’s your pillow?”

“Because the only time I hear things is when I’m lying on my pillow.  It must pick up electricity or something.”

“Electricity?”

Yes, you know, like radio or TV signals.  Or maybe it’s those stupid cell phones.  They cause brain cancer you know.”

“No, I didn’t know that.  I guess Bill and I are doomed,” I laughed.

“Maybe the next time you’re out,” she said, turning away and starting down the hall, “you could pick up a new pillow for me.  Get one with feathers.  I don’t think feathers can attract electricity.”

“Okay Mom,” I called after her.  “A feather pillow without a transponder.  You’ve got it!”

foil hat

Leave a Reply

