IRS Scammers

“The scammers are doing it again,” Mom called out from the living room.

“Doing what again?” I called back from the kitchen.

“Trying to get money,” she yelled.

I finished pouring Coke into my cup of ice and rum, picked up both my and Bill’s drinks and walked into the living room.

“What’s the latest scam,” I asked, pausing before heading out to the patio with our adult beverages.

“They call you up and try to get money for the election.”

“Whose election?”

“The IRS,” she exclaimed.

IRS agent

“I’m sorry,” I replied, “I didn’t realize the IRS was running for anything.”

“Well they probably aren’t, but the scammers are trying to get them reelected.”

“Reelected to what?”

“I don’t know.  The Tax department I guess.  Isn’t that what they do.  Tax stuff?”

“Yes, Mom, that’s what they do.  Except they aren’t elected.”

“Then how did they get there.”

“It’s a private company under contract with the government.”

“Okay then, so when the contract is over, don’t they have to get reelected again?”

“No, if the contract ends it’s because there’s no more IRS and the world will be a beautiful place,” I commented with a wistful smile.

“So what are the scammers trying to do?”

“I don’t know.  Get money from really stupid people?”

“Well there’s a whole lot of that going around,” she huffed.  “Just look at how that Trump guy keeps getting elected.”

Leave a Reply

