Head Cheese

“Why would the news say that Ted Cruz is head cheese?” Mom said to me as I brought in her glass of OJ and yogurt.

“Who said he’s head cheese?” I asked.

“The people on the news.  I’ve never even heard of head cheese, have you?  Is it like Swiss or Cheddar?”

“No, I don’t think so.  In fact, I don’t think it’s even real cheese,” I replied.  “I think it’s this disgusting concoction made out of meat from a cow’s head or brain or something like that.”

“Well that doesn’t make any sense,” she muttered, shaking her head.

“I don’t think so either, but there’s no accounting for taste I guess,” I said as I turned to go back to the office.

“No, not that.  It doesn’t make sense that the news people would call Ted Cruz head cheese.  I don’t know what that could mean except they think maybe he looks like he has a cow head.”

“Are you sure that’s what they said?”

“Pretty sure,” she said, scrunching her eyebrows and looking thoughtful.

“What else were they talking about when they called him head cheese?” I prompted.

“The election, I think.  He just won somewhere.”

“Wisconsin, he just won the primary in Wisconsin,” I exclaimed.  “It’s cheese head not head cheese.”

“What’s a cheese head?”

“It’s a nickname for people from Wisconsin.  You know, like Hoosiers are from Indiana and Buckeyes are from Ohio.”

“Well that’s stupid.  Why not call them dell heads?  That makes more sense to me.”

“Dell heads?  Like the computer?”

“No, like the Wisconsin Dells.  We took you there on vacation a few years ago, remember?”

“Oh, right, I remember that.  We all went together, aunts and uncles and cousins.  Wow, that was probably over 60 years ago.  I’d say that’s a little more than a few.”

“50, 60, whatever.  When you get to be 90, everything else is a few.”

Dells

Jimmy, Karen, Patty, David, Joanne – 1954 at the Dells

Leave a Reply

