Chocolate Coke

I’ve mentioned before that Mom believes that any beverage that comes out of a can is a Coke.  This is true for single-serve cans of V-8, single-serve cans of fruit juice, any other soft drink, and especially her daily lunchtime can of Slim Fast.

Sometimes she has the Slim Fast with a few chocolate or caramel-flavored rice cakes; sometimes she has a handful of potato chips; other times she has a half a sandwich.  But these luncheon choices are always served with a can of ‘Coke.’

The other day, as I was sitting on the floor in the living room, loading a fresh supply of Slim Fast inside the storage compartment of the stand upon which her personal little refrigerator sits, Mom blurted out a news flash.

“Did you know that Coke is putting chocolate flavoring into their pop now?”

As I was methodically arranging each row of Chocolate Royale flavored Slim Fast, I paused and looked at the remaining cans laying in my lap.  “No,” I replied, keeping my head down and trying very hard not to laugh.  “I didn’t know that.”

“Well it’s true.  It’s definitely got some kind of chocolate flavor now.  It’s kind of faint, but it’s there.”

“Okay,” I said, picking up the rest of the Slim Fast cans and storing them away.  “And do you like it better than the old Coke?”

“I’m not sure,” she answered, scrunching up her forehead in thought.  “The old Coke was definitely fizzier.  But I do like the chocolatiness of the new one.  I think I’ll stick with that one for now.”

“Alrighty then,” I responded with a grin as I stood up.  “I’ll just save the old fizzy stuff for when Bill and I have rum and Coke and you can have the chocolatey stuff.”

“That would be good because I don’t imagine rum would be too good with chocolate Coke.”

chocolate coke

Leave a Reply

