Resting

Mom wheeled the Red Menace to the doorway of the office and announced, “I’m going to lay down now.”

“Weren’t you just sleeping in the recliner?” I shouted after her as she did a quick U-turn and motored away.

I listened to the mechanical click-click-click as she pushed and pulled on the joystick to maneuver the wheelchair into position next to her bed, followed by her muffled grunt as she moved from the comfort of the Red Menace’s leather seat to her king-size mattress.  Eventually she bellowed out, “What?”

I got up from my desk and walked into her bedroom.  She was sitting on the side of her bed looking at me expectantly.  “What did you say?” she asked.

“I said, haven’t you already been sleeping all morning in the recliner?”

“No, not really,” she replied as she removed her slippers.  “I was just resting my eyes.”

“For two hours?” I asked somewhat incredulously.

“I guess,” she said, placing her slippers on the wheelchair’s seat.  “Maybe my eyes were really tired,” she offered with a shrug.

“With your mouth wide open?”

“No it was not open at all,” she huffed.

“And snoring?” I inquired further.

“I was not snoring,” she argued.

“Well you were the only one in the house sleeping, so I assumed it was you making the noise.”

“I said, I wasn’t asleep, I was only resting.  That’s what I do in the lay-down chair.  I rest.”

“I see.  And when you want to go to sleep you…?”

“I come in here and lay down where it’s more comfortable,” she replied, “And besides, half the time I don’t even sleep when I’m back here.”

“Oh?  So you just lay here, resting some more.  For two or three hours.  Every day.”

“Yes, that’s what I mostly do,” she said, laying down and covering herself with a small afghan.  “I come back here to rest where it’s quiet.”

“Quiet?  It’s not so quiet Mom,” I remarked loudly.  “Because the television’s still on in the living room.”

“Well I can’t hear it back here,” she said, turning away from me and rolling onto her side so that her deaf ear was up and her ‘good’ ear was buried in the pillow.  “It sounds pretty quiet to me.”

“A freight train going through the house would be quieter than the TV,” I said loudly as I walked out of the room.

“Okay then” she mumbled into her pillow.  “If you’re taking a train somewhere be sure to turn off the TV on your way out.”

resting



Leave a Reply

