Skinny Girl Scouts

The last time Bill and I went to the grocery store, I picked out a different flavor of ice cream for Mom: Girl Scout Thin Mints.  I thought it would be a nice change from the Mint Chocolate Chip, Neapolitan, and Strawberry merry-go-round that she’s been on for the last several month.  I’ve tried new flavors in the past like candy-infused ice cream (Butterfinger, Heath Bar, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups) and a couple of oldies but goodies (Rocky Road and Butter Pecan), but she rejected them all as being too crunchy, too lumpy, too hard to chew or just too weird.  However, when I got her the Thin Mint once before she seemed to enjoy it, so I thought I’d try it again.

As I place the bowl of ice cream in her hand, I showed her the carton so she could see what flavor she was eating.

“What’s that?” she asked, squinting at the label.

“Girl Scout Cookie ice cream,” I said with a smile.  “Thin Mint flavor.  What do you think?”

She poked into the small mound of creamy chocolate and vanilla ice cream with the tip of her spoon, then scraped up a small piece of cookie.  “It has stuff in it,” she stated suspiciously as she placed it under her nose and took a tentative sniff.  “What is it?”

“It’s a Thin Mint cookie,” I replied.

“Oh, okay then.  I guess they finally had enough complaints,” she said with a shrug, slipping the minuscule morsel into her mouth.

“Complaints?  Who complained?  About what?”

“The people,” she said matter-of-factly.

“What people?  What complaints?” I responded in frustration.

“The people that didn’t like it.”

“Didn’t like what?”

“The mints,” she answered, scooping up another spoonful of ice cream.

“Mints?  Do you mean the flavor?  The cookie?  What?” I asked somewhat plaintively.

“Yes, them.  That’s why they’re thin now.  Because people complained they were too thick and hard to eat,” she replied, holding up her spoon to demonstrate the apparent wafer-like qualities of the small piece of cooked embedded in the ice cream.  “See, it’s thin now so it’s easier to chew.”

“Mom, they were always thin, that’s why they’re called Thin Mints,” I argued.

“No they weren’t.  When I was a girl they were fatter.”

“Fat Mints?” I asked, trying not to laugh.  “I didn’t know they had Girl Scout cookies when you were a girl.”

“Well they did,” she stated with an emphatic nod.  “They only had a couple of flavors and they were all thicker.”

Girl Scouts



Leave a Reply

