Kay Chew

“What’s Kay Chew Chicken?” Mom asked when I showed her the two dinner choices for the evening, Lasagna or Cashew Chicken.

“Kay Chew?” I repeated.  “Do you mean cashew chicken?”

“Yes, that one,” she replied with a nod.

“It’s Chinese, with chicken and cashews and vegetables and rice,” I told her.  “You’ve had it before and I thought you liked it.”

“Okay, if you say so.  I’ll have the lasagna.”

“Alrighty then,” I said, turning toward the kitchen.  “It’ll be ready in about five minutes.”

“Wait,” she called out.  “I was just wondering something.”

“Yes?”

“What’s a cashew?”

“It’s a nut, Mom.”

“And I like it?”

“You used to.”

“But is it a crunchy nut?” she continued, cocking her head and scratching the tip of her nose.

“I suppose so.  It’s probably as crunchy as any other nut,” I offered.

“Okay then,” she said dismissively, shooing me back towards the kitchen with a wave.  “The lasagna will be better.”

“Oh?  Because it isn’t crunchy?”

“No.  Because it isn’t nutty.”

nut



Leave a Reply

