Royalty

It’s over 500 days until the 2016 Presidential election. Over 500 days to listen to political commentary and insight from news casters and pundits followed by Mom’s interpretation of what she thought they said. Last week, Mom’s morning’s update started with, “Did you hear that Joe Biden has a brain disease and is going to die?”

“No, Mom,” I sighed. “His son just died from brain cancer.”

“Oh, I guess that’s too bad. But I wouldn’t have been surprised if it was Biden. I always thought there was something wrong with him. He says some really stupid stuff for someone who’s supposed to be the Vice President.

“I have to agree with you on that one,” I laughed. “Unfortunately, Joe Biden can’t blame his problems on a disease.”

I thought that would be the end of it, but she wasn’t done.

“Did you hear that they’re thinking about making the president into a royal family? You know, like a king and queen?” she continued.

That stopped me cold. “No, I didn’t hear that one,” I replied. “Who exactly is thinking about doing that?”

“I don’t know. Some guy on the TV. He said we can’t pass around being president from one family to the same family without making them royalty.”

“Oh, that guy. He’s running against Hillary and he thinks another Clinton and another Bush is one too many.”

“Hmmph,” she grunted. “Sometimes I think the first ones were one too many.”

royalty



Leave a Reply

