Too Lazy To Twirl

As I placed a plate of spaghetti on the lap tray for her dinner, Mom stared down at it for a moment before letting out a long sigh. “What’s the matter,” I asked. “Aren’t you hungry?”

“No, I’m ready to eat,” she said, followed by second sigh.

“So what is it? Don’t you like spaghetti anymore?”

“No, I like it just fine,” she replied, punctuated with yet another sigh.

“Then what’s the problem? Too much food? Not enough? What’s with all the big sighs?”

“Now I have to twirl it,” she said with a frown and a final sigh.

“The spaghetti? Is it too hard for you to twirl? Should I cut it up?”

“No, no, I just don’t feel like twirling, that’s all. It seems like a lot of work just to eat a plate of noodles.”

“Well I can always put them in a blender and you can use a straw to eat it if you’re too lazy to twirl,” I responded, shaking my head as I walked away. “Let me know when you’re done,” I continued from the kitchen. “I’ll get your ice cream out now so it’s good and melted when you’re ready for it. That way you won’t have to use a spoon, you can just drink it out of the bowl.”

blender2

Leave a Reply

