The Boy

“Ryan and Jamie are coming by with the girls,” I informed Mom, who muttered “That’s nice,” her head buried in the latest issue of Good Housekeeping.

“They should be here in about a half an hour,” I said, heading into the kitchen to sneak a taste of the Pork Carnitas Bill had simmering in the crockpot.

“Are they coming today?” she called after me.

“Yes, today,” I yelled back. “They’ll be here soon.”

After a pause to flip the page, she asked, “How many do they have?”

“How many kids? Two,” I replied loudly before blowing on the meat I’d scooped out of the pot.

“And what are their names again?” she shouted.

I slipped the tidbit of hot pork into my mouth, replaced the lid on the crockpot and walked back into the living room. “Olivia and Morgan,” I answered. “Olivia’s four and Morgan’s one.”

“And which ones the boy?” she asked, looking up.

“Neither of them. They’re both girls.”

“No they’re not,” she argued. “One of them is a boy.”

“No, I’m sure Ryan and Jamie would know if they
had a son instead of a daughter.”

“Then who’s got the boy?” she asked.

“Dana and Allen have a girl and a boy. Amber and Jack.”

“So which ones the boy?”

“The one with the boy’s name – Jack. Amber’s a girl.”

“Okay, I knew there was a boy around somewhere. And when will they be here?”

“Ryan and Jamie will be here soon. Dana and Allen are out of town.”

“Okay. And which ones the boy?”

boy

Leave a Reply

