It’s Not a Dress

“Why would anyone think a woman would wear a cape to the bathroom?” Mom asked as I set her dinner down on her lap tray.

I glanced at the TV and saw the universal ladies room sign and the tag: ‘It’s not a dress, it’s a cape.’

ladiesroom

I listened briefly as the TV anchor talked about how a company’s ad campaign about empowering women was becoming a Twitter hit and had gone viral.

“It’s an ad campaign, Mom,” I said. “Some software company started it and now it getting popular in social media.”

“Well it seems like a pretty stupid ad to me. Women don’t wear capes. I don’t think even men do anymore.”

“Superman does,” I commented drily. “And Batman.”

“They don’t count. They’re in the movies and they probably don’t even go to the bathroom,” she huffed.

Leave a Reply

