The Vanishing Garage Door

“What happened to the garage door?” Mom asked as I knelt on the floor, refilling her little living room lunch frig with cans of chocolate flavored Slimfast. I looked up and my confusion must have been obvious because she attempted to clarify her question by adding, “You know, the one in the garage.”

“Nothing happened to it,” I said, placing the last couple of cans on the shelf and closing the door. “It’s where it always was, on the front of the garage.”

“No, not that garage door. The other one on the side.”

“Nothing happened to that one either,” I said, as I grunted up to a standing position.

“Yes it did,” she argued. “I think it’s gone.”

“Gone? What do you mean gone? Like there’s a blank wall where the door used to be? Or just a gaping hole.”

“I don’t know, probably a hole because it isn’t there anymore.”

“Why would you think the door’s gone?” I asked. “You haven’t been out in the garage for months.”

“I was looking for you the other day and I went into the back room and opened the door to the garage and it was really bright out there so I figured the door was gone,” she explained with a shrug.

“Was the big garage door opened?” I asked.

“No, it was closed and the car was there and it was really, really bright but the light was off,” she said, squinting against the memory of the glare.  “So what happened to the door?”

“It’s still there, Mom,” I said. “We got a new window to replace the old discolored single-paned one and we got rid of the old dusty curtains and put up blinds and the slates were opened so it lets in a lot more light.”

“What about the window in the door? That let in light too.”

“It barely did. Besides, we replaced the door three years ago because it wasn’t up to code. It was an interior door, not an exterior door, plus the wood was rotting.”

“Well that’s good, I guess. At least I don’t have to worry anymore about someone breaking into the house because there wasn’t any garage door.”

“No, Mom, you don’t have to worry. Bill’s really good about changing the smoke alarm batteries, locking all the windows, and making sure none of the doors disappear.”

magician

Leave a Reply

