The 20 Second Easter Story

Our son and daughter-in-law were driving back from Easter Sunday services and called to wish us a Happy Easter. Ryan gave Olivia, our almost-4-year-old granddaughter, the phone so she could thank us for the Easter basket of goodies that Bill sent them from the Popcorn Factory.

“Hi, sweetie,” I said to her. “Happy Easter.”

“Happy Easter Nana,” she chirped back. “Thank you for the chocolate eggs and the popcorn.”

“You’re welcome. Did you have a fun time at church?” I continued, as prompting for information is usually the only way to find out what’s up with an almost 4 year old. “Did you go on an Easter egg hunt?”

“Yes. And I got eggs and did you know that Jesus got to ride on a donkey and leaned on a cross and went away for 3 days and then came back and made Easter?” she blurted out enthusiastically.

“Well, yes, I knew that, but you tell the story very well,” I said with a smile. “Better than a lot of grown-ups.”

“I know. And Jesus loves everybody.”

“Yes he does, honey, especially you and Morgan. And where do you think Jesus went when he went away?”

“I don’t know Nana. Probabee Disneyland.”

“Probably,” I agreed, trying not to laugh out loud. “I love you Olivia.”

“I love you too, Nana. And so does Jesus.”

jesus

Leave a Reply

