Birthday Surprise

February 28th is our youngest granddaughter’s birthday and her mother’s birthday as well. Morgan turned one this year and Ryan and Jamie had an afternoon birthday party for her. Shortly before Bill and I were ready to head out on the one hour trek to east Mesa, I stopped by the living room to let Mom know we would be leaving soon.

“We’re going to Morgan’s birthday party, but we should be back by 4:00 or so,” I said.

“That’s nice,” Mom said. “How old is she?”

“It’s her first birthday,” I replied. “Plus it’s Jamie’s birthday today too.”

“Oh? Why?” she asked.

I paused before answering. “Because they were born on the same day,” I finally responded with a sigh.

“We’ll that stinks for them now, doesn’t it,” she said.

“Why would it stink?” I asked.

“Because they have to share. Someone always get gypped when you have to share. Like if your birthday is on Christmas,” she explained.

“Well I don’t think it’ll be a problem,” I said, turning to leave.

“I don’t know about that,” she said. “How far apart are they?”

I stopped half way across the room and turn back to face her. “Mom, Jamie is Morgan’s mother. There’s more than 30 years separating them.”

“Oh, well that should be okay then,” she responded with a nod. I’ll bet Jamie was really surprised.”

“You mean because Morgan was born on her birthday?”

“No, because she was born on Jamie’s birthday.”

First birthday6

Leave a Reply

