Happy New Year

On New Year’s morning Mom called me into the living room from the kitchen where I was cleaning out the coffee pot. Turning off the water, I rushed into the room as she called out, “Hurry, hurry, he almost here.”

“Who are you talking about?” I asked, as I walked into the room.

“Bob Barker,” she said. “He turned 90 today and Drew Carey’s having him on the show.”

“Oh, well isn’t that nice of Drew,” I commented, drying my hands on the front of my PJs.

“Look, look,” she exclaimed, pointing excitedly towards the television. “There he is!”

A well-preserved and almost regal Bob Barker walked onto the stage.

Bob Barker

“He looks great for 90,” I said.

“Yes, I guess he does,” she agreed. “But I don’t think that’s his real hair.”

Glancing at Barker’s impeccably coiffed silver mane, I had to disagree. “I think it’s still his, Mom. He always had a full head of hair.”

“I guess so,” she replied somewhat begrudgingly, absently patting her own new pixie cut.

As I turned to go back into the kitchen, I said. “Well, he looks pretty darned good for his age.”

“Yup,” she said. “He looks better than a lot of 90 year olds. I hope I still look as good when I turn 90 this year.”

“I don’t think you have anything to worry about,” I said. “You’re ageless!”

20140331_135344

Happy 2015 everyone!

One Comment on “Happy New Year”

  1. what a sweet heart she looks absolutely marvelous


Leave a Reply

