Pink Sky at Sunrise

As I was delivering Mom’s breakfast to her in the living room, I noticed a story playing on the morning news about a hot air balloon that went down near a beach somewhere in California. It was apparently a proposal gone awry. Fortunately, no one was hurt.

After plopping down her yogurt, banana, and juice I headed back to the kitchen for my second cup of coffee but was brought up short when she called me back to the living room.

“What’s up,” I asked, glancing at the TV and the floundering balloon as it bobbed several yards off shore.

“Did you see the story on the news about the sunrise?” she asked.

“No, what story,” I asked.

“This one,” she said, pointing at the television. “It’s about how pink the sunrise is.”

“Mom, it’s about a hot air balloon going down in…”

“But it was ballooning with a pink sunrise,” she broke in. “And I looked out the window and I saw it right outside at the same time the news was on,” she said with a nod and a satisfied grin.”

“Saw what outside?”

“The pink sunrise,” she exclaimed. “It’s on the news so they must be doing a story about.”

“Mom, it’s in California. That’s the ocean,” I replied, pointing at the TV screen and the waves lapping at the shore. “A balloon fell into the water.”

“But it’s our sunrise,” she stated firmly.

“But our house doesn’t have beach frontage,” I argued.

“No, but they could have used our sunrise for the story and then put it on the beach.”

“Why would they do that? Why wouldn’t they just use the California sunrise?”

“They’re not as nice as ours because they’re all the way west so they don’t get the pretty ones,” she explained.

hot_air_balloon_in_clouds_lg_clr


One Comment on “Pink Sky at Sunrise”

  1. Lynn Becker says:

    I always get a chuckle from your posts, and now you know why your sunrises are better, too!


Leave a Reply

