Professor Who?

I was returning to the living room with Mom’s left hearing aid, into which I’d just placed a fresh, teeny tiny new battery.  These batteries only last 4 to 5 days, and that’s only if Mom remembers to disengage the battery by opening the itty bitty battery door on each unit after she removes them to go to bed.  If she forgets and I don’t double check them each night, they only last about 2 days.  But the minor downside of short-lived batteries cannot possibly outweigh the major upside of peace and relative quiet that we enjoy since her TV’s volume is now set at a reasonable level instead of so high that it vibrates the interior walls of the house.

Anyway, getting back to my trip into the living room.  As I handed Mom the hearing aid, she suddenly waved her left hand, which also held a partially eaten banana, in the direction of the TV.  “Look, Patty.  Quick, look,” she cried out.

I turned my head and caught a nanosecond glance at a white-haired person before the camera panned to the hosts of the Today show.  “Did you see him,” she asked, a bright little grin lighting up her face.

“The white haired man?” I asked.

“Yes, him,” she replied.  “You know who he looks like, don’t you?”

“No, I didn’t see him that well.  Who?”

“You know, the guy that plays all the professors and roles like that on TV and movies,” she said, nodding vigorously, as though it was perfectly clear who she was talking about.  Professor Gadget?  The Nutty Professor?  The Professor on Gilligan’s Island?  I had no clue.

“What guy?  What professor?  I don’t know who you mean,” I said.

“Sure you do,” she argued.  “He plays all the famous professors.  And sometimes doctors, but mostly professors,” she added.  “Anyway, that guy looked just like him.  And,” she finished with a big smile, “he really is a professor.”

With that, she put down her breakfast banana, picked up her hearing aid and popped it – banana slime and all – back into her ear.  Mystery solved.

smart_guy_teaching_lg_clr


4 Comments on “Professor Who?”

  1. I know who she’s talking about. Should I be worried?

    • Patt says:

      Probably – but not too worried. I know every time I know what she means, which, unfortunately, is most of the time, my husband looks a bit concerned, sort of like maybe I’m from another planet.

  2. penpusherpen says:

    Yup, mystery solved…. Um? Who was it? and did you manage to change the battery ok before it was bananafied? xPenx

  3. Patt says:

    Fortunately the battery got changed. Unfortunately, she still bananafied it before she stuck it in her ear!


Leave a Reply

