Hello? Is Anyone There?

When we got a new home phone a few months ago, we bought a set that can link up with our cell phone and, not only has a viewing screen that shows the caller ID, but also has an audio of whose calling.  We thought this feature might help Mom, who complained she couldn’t read the smaller screen on our old phone.

So, the other day when my brother Dave called, by the time I realized Mom wasn’t going to answer the phone, he’d already hung up.  As I walked into the living room, she was hunched over the arm of the loveseat, squinting at the phone that sat within arm’s reach on the end table.

“Are you having trouble reading the display?” I asked, walking over and plucking the phone from the base.

“No, I can see it fine,” she responded, leaning back into the cushion.

“Then did you not understand the audio?” I asked, scrolling to the missed call log and landing on the entry with my brother’s name.

“No, it said it was David,” she replied.

“Then why didn’t you answer the phone?” I said with a note of aggravation in my voice.

“Because it stopped ringing before I could figure it out,” she said.

“Okay, let’s call him back,” I suggested and pressed Talk to dial his number, then handed her the phone.

It rang several times and then went to voicemail, his carrier’s default voicemail greeting, not one he’d recorded himself.  At this point Mom tried to hand me the phone.

“Just leave a message,” I said in a loud whisper.

“I can’t,” she whined, wiggling the phone at me so I’d take it from her.  “There’s someone else on the line.”

“It’s voicemail, just leave a message,” I instructed.

“No it isn’t,” she argued, waving the phone more forcibly in my direction.  “It’s some woman trying to tell me to do something.  You must have dialed a wrong number.”

woman_switchboard_directing_calls_lg_clr

One Comment on “Hello? Is Anyone There?”

  1. penpusherpen says:

    ah,technology bites the dust again. 😉 xx


Leave a Reply

