Who’s On First

Dinner was over and I was delivering Mom’s dish of mint chocolate chip ice cream.  I placed it in her lap and started to walk away when she called me back.  She was holding up her little pink pill cup, which contained a single white capsule.

“Aren’t you going to take that?” I asked, staring at the lone pill.

“You know, this is the same pill that stuck inside the pill box yesterday, so I didn’t get one last night,” she commented.

“Does that mean you got two tonight by accident?”

“No, it means I didn’t take one last night.”

“So, are you going to take this one?”

“I already took one this morning.”

“But you usually take two a day.  It’s your Biotin for your nails.”

“I know, but I don’t need to take this one.”

“Why not.”

“Because I took one this morning.”

“But you take two a day.”

“I know.”

“So why aren’t you going to take this one?”

“Because I already took one this morning.”

“But…“ I stopped myself abruptly, clamped my mouth shut, took the little vial from her and marched into the kitchen where I threw the pill into the trash before returning to the Arizona Room.

“Having a little Abbott and Costello moment?” Bill asked with a chuckle.  “Sort of like Who’s On First?”

“What?” I said absently, my mind still reeling from the nonsensical conversation with Mom.

“He’s on second,” Bill replied.

“Who?” I asked, completely confused at this point.

“No, he’s on first,” he said, laughing hysterically.

baseball_guy_chewing_gum_lg_clr



Leave a Reply

