The Corner Store

“Did you hear it this morning?” Mom said as I came into the living room from the kitchen.

“Hear what?” I asked, placing a steaming cup of fresh coffee down on the table next to her.

“The noise.  It happens every morning at 7:00,” she explained.

Over the course of the last several months, both Bill and I have told Mom what ‘the noise’ is – several times in fact – but she keeps forgetting, so it remains an ongoing mystery for her.  My long-time readers will know the answer to this enigma.  My new readers… well, you’ll just have to keep reading.

“Aren’t you awake early?” she asked.  “I know Bill is.”

“No, Mom, I usually don’t get up until 7:30,” I said.

“Oh, well then you wouldn’t hear it.”

“No, I guess I wouldn’t,” I responded, turning to leave.

“Well, I think I finally figured out where it’s coming from,” she announced with a notable level of pride.

I stopped my retreat and turned back toward her.  “You mean the noise that you think is an alarm?”

“Yes, that’s the sound.  An alarm going off.  At 7:00.  Every morning.”

“So, where do you think it’s coming from?”

“The store on the corner,” she replied, pointing over her shoulder toward the general vicinity of southeast.

I shook my head and conjured up a mental image of our neighborhood.  Nope, no stores, only a square mile of seventies-style ranch houses surrounding a nearby golf course’s emerald smile of fairway grass and greens.

Skyview of house

“What corner are you talking about?” I asked.

“The one back there,” she said, pointing toward her bedroom and the back corner of the house.

“And what store do you think is on the corner?” I asked.

“You know, the one that sells tools and stuff like that.”

“Are you talking about the hardware store?”

“That’s the one.  I think it’s their alarm going off when they open in the morning,” she said with a nod.  “That’s the only thing that makes sense.”

“If you say so,” I replied over my shoulder, shaking my head as I wandered into the Arizona Room and plopped down on the couch next to Bill.  He turned to me and asked “Is she talking about the True Value Hardware on 99th?”

“Yup, that’s the one,” I sighed.

“It’s at least a mile away,” he said.

“Yup, it sure is,” I replied.

“So, she doesn’t remember it’s the coffee maker going off?”

“Nope, apparently not.  But, on the bright side, we now have a local hardware within walking distance that opens at 7 in the morning in case we need nuts or bolts or tools and stuff.”

“Yup,” he nodded.  “Like maybe something to tighten up some of the loose screws around here!”



Leave a Reply

