To Oz or Not to Oz

Like many daytime TV viewers, including Mom and probably most of our Sun City neighbors, our friend and neighbor, Gisella, watches Dr. Oz just about every day.  It’s certainly understandable.  He exudes concern and empathy; he imparts pearls of medical wisdom and common sense advice; he offers his opinion and sage counsel based on years of schooling and in-practice experience.  He’s compassionate, intelligent and charismatic.  And, probably the most important thing, Mom thinks he’s kind of cute.

Which is why I was somewhat surprised when Gisella called to tell me she’d been in the emergency room the night before with dizziness and high blood pressure – and it was all Dr. Oz’s fault.

“How can it be his fault?” I asked once I was able to insert a word into her German tirade.

“Because he said on his show that most heart attacks happen at 10:00 in the morning so I switched and started to take my blood pressure pills at night.”

“Why would you do that?” I asked.  “Did you ask your doctor?”

“Why would I have too?  Dr. Oz is a real doctor.  That’s what they call him Doctor Oz,” she answered with just a hint of Teutonic exasperation.  “So I switched to nighttime because then they would work when I sleep so my blood pressure is low when I wake up and I won’t have a heart attack at 10:00 in the morning.”

“Okay, I suppose that makes some kind of sense,” I replied.  “So what happened?”

“Well now I’m having headaches and high blood pressure before I go to bed and yesterday it’s so bad I go to the emergency room last night.  So, I asked myself, what does this mean?  And so I answer myself.  It means I won’t have a heart attack in the morning,” she yelled, her voice rising steadily, probably along with her blood pressure, “I’ll have it at night now, instead!  That damn Dr. Oz!”

“Did you ever talk to your doctor about this?” I asked.

“Ja,” she said, finally winding down.  “He said don’t mess with my pills and call him next time before I do something dumb.  Ha!  There won’t be a next time.”

“Good, I hope not.  Did he get the time straightened out on when to take your pills?”

“Ja, he did,” she said.  “I’m back on mornings.

“So, I guess that’s why there won’t be a next time?” I asked.

“No.  There won’t be a next time,” she huffed, “because I’m never going to watch that damn Dr. Oz again!”

doctor_doctor_chart_lg_clr


2 Comments on “To Oz or Not to Oz”

  1. penpusherpen says:

    Oh dear, 😉 the power of television and uniformed advice. Ah well, never having seen Dr Oz, in Britain I’m not in danger of falling under his spell. Phew!! xPenx

    • Patt says:

      It’s sort of scary all of the “self-help” stuff they broadcast here. I’m amazed there aren’t more seniors dropping like flies with all the healthcare advice they’re bombarded with on regular TV, commercials and half-hour long paid advertising programs.


Leave a Reply

