One in a Million

We were all eating dinner in the living room while Mom’s new favorite game show, “Who Wants To Be a Millionaire,” dominated our dining pleasure because she had the volume set to slightly less decibels than O’Hare’s runways at mid-day.

“I really like this new show,” Mom said in-between bites of French dip.  “And that Meredith woman seems very nice.”

“It’s not a new show, Mom,” I replied loudly.  “It’s been on for years.  Just the host changes.  Now it’s Meredith Vieira.”

“Oh,” she said, with a note of skepticism in her voice, “and who was the other host?”

“I think Regis Philbin was on originally.”

“No, I think you’re thinking of another show, not this one.  He had a talk show with that woman who laughs too loud.  She’s on another show now but I don’t watch it because she drives me crazy.”

“It was Regis and Kathy Lee,” I answered, “and then Regis and Kelly and now it’s Kelly and some other guy.”

“So, see, he wasn’t on the Millionaire show,” she said with a smug nod.  “He was on his own show.”

And he was on Millionaire,” I argued.  “He did his talk show during the day and Millionaire at night.”

“Well I don’t see how he could have done all of that.  The man’s at least 80 years old,” she huffed.

“Amazing isn’t it,” Bill piped in as he stood with his empty plate.  “It’s probably why he’s in such great shape.”

“Well I think you’re wrong.  People that age can’t work that hard,” she said.

“Don’t tell that to Cloris Leachman or Betty White,” I responded as I nested Mom’s empty plate with mine and followed Bill into the kitchen, “or Don Rickles.”

“Well since I don’t talk to them, telling them anything would be pretty hard,” she muttered.

irene_showcasing_item_lg_clr


7 Comments on “One in a Million”

  1. chris says:

    Valuim works better then rum for mom care. Mines 85 yo likes the price is right tv. And will not use her hearing aids. Living the dream. G luck

  2. penpusherpen says:

    I think you’re One In A Million, I hate the TV up too loud. keep up the good work, (I said ‘KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!) 😉 xPenx

    • Patt says:

      Thank you Penny. By the way, you have a wonderful gift and I’m so happy you’re sharing it. Your poems make me think, and smile and sometimes shed a much needed tear.

  3. belsbror says:

    Hi! I nominated you for the Most Creative and Versatile Blogger Awards. Please get the badges at http://wp.me/s32YrK-sensible and get more info. Have a wonderful day.🙂


Leave a Reply

