Mom Math

My brother, Dave, called Mom a while back and, even though Bill and I were at the opposite end of the house, we could still overhear snippets of Mom’s side of the conversation.

At some point Dave must have brought up the idea of Mom venturing outdoors with her new power wheelchair because she was arguing about how she was perfectly happy staying in the house and didn’t need fresh air or sunshine.

“I’ve had 88 years of sunshine, I don’t need to go outside to get more.”

Pause

“Well they open the windows at night so I get plenty of fresh air.”

Pause

“No, I don’t think driving my wheelchair outside is a very good idea.  Besides, if I want sunshine I can take a vitamin D pill.”

Pause

“Because you never know what might happen.”

Pause

“I don’t know.  I might fall off the curb.  I’m almost 90 so…”

Pause

“Okay, than, almost 89… “

Pause

“All right then, almost 88.  It doesn’t matter, David, I’m not going to drive around the neighborhood in my wheelchair!  I’m not some hot-rodder, you know!”

Long pause

“I’m going to spend my remaining years being comfortable inside the house.  That’s what retirement is all about.  ”

Pause

“Okay.  I love you too.  Thanks for calling.”

jason_spinning_wheelchair_lg_clr

3 Comments on “Mom Math”

  1. penpusherpen says:

    wonderful,. 🙂 xx

  2. sugarbeechronicles says:

    I like your mom’s thinking….kind of logical, you know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

