Gold Boom

One of 8-year-old Jack’s favorite things to do is to sit on our bed with his Papa, watch TV and conduct a running commentary on just about everything that displays on the screen.  He doesn’t really care what’s on; he just enjoys spending time with Bill.  And this is where he was during a Memorial week visit when an ad by a precious metals broker came on trying to entice people into buying gold.

“Papa, I don’t get why people would buy gold,” Jack said as the ad ended and morphed into a car commercial.

“I guess because they think it’s a good investment and it’ll make them money,” Bill answered.

“Well that’s just stupid,” Jack replied.

“Why is it stupid?” Bill asked.  “Gold is a valuable, rare metal.”

“It isn’t rare, Papa.  If you want some you can just go and get it made.”

“Get it made?” Bill said, cocking his head to stare down at Jack, who was snuggled into the crook of his Papa’s arm, munching on Jelly Bellies.

“Sure.  You just go to a blacksmith and ask him to make you some.”

“A blacksmith?  How does a blacksmith make gold?”

“I don’t know,” Jack replied.  “I’m not a blacksmith.  But if I was one, then I’d know how.”

“Oh, okay.  Well, I guess that makes sense,” Bill said, snagging a popcorn flavored jelly bean from Jack’s palm.

“And I’d make you all the gold you wanted, Papa.  For free.”

“Thanks Jack.  I appreciate that.”

“No prob blob, it’s only a job,” Jack replied with a crooked grin “

“You know you’re a little weird, right Jack?” Bill said, giving him a hug.  “But a good weird.”

“Yeah, I know.  It’s cool fool.”

blacksmith_hammer_forge_sword_lg_clr

3 Comments on “Gold Boom”

  1. Great story. I am happy I came across this. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything 🙂

  2. penpusherpen says:

    can Jack make some for me too?.. and I’ll keep quiet about it?… 🙂 xx

    • Patt says:

      I’ll let you know when we get the first batch and we can share. Thanks so much for the follow and I hope you continue to enjoy the family exploits.


Leave a Reply

