Hobby Update

Hobby # 1: Bill is still the Sausage King of Sun City.  But homemade Italian links and breakfast patties aren’t the update.

Hobby # 2: He got his precious solid state drive so he’s now the proud owner of a hard drive as big as a mid-size server farm.  But Frankenputer isn’t the update.

Hobby #3: He started most of our ‘winter’ garden from seed and has spent the entire month of February babying seedlings for tomatoes, squash, carrots and corn. But gardening isn’t the update.

Potential Hobby #4: Now he wants his own drone.

He read a story online about how drones are getting mixed reviews.  Some people think they’re the most wonderful thing to happen to our military and law enforcement since the A-bomb and Tasers.  Others feel that they have the potential of being intrusive into normal citizens’ everyday lives.  Bill, on the other hand, has no opinion.  He just thinks they’re cool.

We were both in the office, reading email and finding out what our kids are up to by checking out Facebook when he leaned over in his chair and said, “Look, honey, check this out.”

I twisted around in my chair so I could look at his monitor and saw, what appeared to be, an extremely stylized black and red model airplane.  “What is it?” I asked, squinting for a clearer view.

“It’s a personal drone.  Pretty impressive, huh?”

“I guess,” I muttered, not giving it much thought as I turned my attention back to Facebook.  “Is that one that the police use?” I asked, trying to feign a little interest.

“I don’t know.  I guess they could if they wanted. But what’s really cool is anybody can,” he answered with just a hint of giddiness creeping into his voice.  “You could.  I could.  Anyone could.  It’s on Amazon.”

The Geek alert went off in my head and suddenly he had my full attention.  “And how would just anyone operate a drone?  Isn’t it pretty complicated?” I asked, turning around to face him.

“Not really,” he replied.  “There’s an Android app for that.”

“And how much does this drone cost?”

“Not much, really.  Not in the scheme of things.  It’s only $300.”

“And what could you possibly use it for?” I asked, somewhat suspiciously.

“Oh, I don’t know.  I could keep tabs on the garden from way up and I’d see rabbits coming from a long way off.  And if we wanted to go to the store, I could check out traffic.  You know, stuff like that.”

“So now it takes a drone to guard against bunnies?  Are you crazy?”

“It was just a thought.  We’d be the only ones on the block with one,” he said as he returned to his computer.  “Probably the only ones in Sun City.”

“Right,” I muttered, turning back to my PC.  “At least until someone from Luke Air Force Base shoots it down or Sheriff Joe takes it out with an AR 15.”

hobby_modeler_hg_clr

One Comment on “Hobby Update”

  1. Reblogged this on DeborahBidwell's Blog and commented:
    at least he is keeping you on your toes so to speak lol


Leave a Reply

