Confessions of a Non-confessor

I was wandering aimless, waiting for the oven’s pre-heat beeper to go off so I could start cooking our Papa Murphy’s Take-N-Bake pizza.  As I wound my way down the hall and through the living room, I was brought up short, just two steps away from the kitchen doorway, by Mom calling out to me.

“Patty, did you see that guy that was going to kill someone and then confess?” she asked.

I glanced at the TV and a teaser for an upcoming interview with the Baseline Killer, a locally convicted Phoenix serial murderer, rapist and thief, was just ending.  “What story?  Do you mean the Baseline Killer interview?”

“No, not him,” she said.  “The other one.”

“What other one?  There was someone who was going to kill someone and then confess after they did it?  I never heard that news story.”

“No, he already killed someone.  Now, I guess he decided to confess.”

“Do you mean Jodi Arias?  The woman on trial for killing her boyfriend?”

“No, not her.  It’s a man.  This is the other guy.  It was just on the news.”

“Sorry, Mom, I don’t have a clue what you’re talking about.”

“Well, supposedly he killed somebody but didn’t admit it except now he’s going to.  Maybe the police found some kind of proof so he has to confess.”

“Having proof would certainly have helped when they arrested him in the first place,” I commented, inching closer to the kitchen.

“Probably, but even if they didn’t have proof, he still murdered someone,” she said.

“If they didn’t have proof, how would they know for sure that he did it?”

“Because he’s getting ready to confess,” she said with a hint of exasperation.

“So who did this guy murder?”

“I don’t know.  Someone else I suppose,” she muttered as she started flipping through the pages of one of her ‘ladies’ magazines.

“Someone else?  What does that mean?” I asked.

“I don’t know.  Someone that I never heard of, I guess.  Just someone else who’s dead now,” she huffed.  “I’ll watch for it again so you can see what I’m talking about.”

“Okey dokey,” I said, rolling my eyes as the oven beeper finally dinged.

That was Wednesday.  This is Friday and I’m still waiting for the update.

detective_crime_scene_lg_clr


2 Comments on “Confessions of a Non-confessor”

  1. Someone else! Of course. Your mum is so funny!

    • Patt says:

      Yes she is, especially when she isn’t making sense to anyone but herself – which is quite often. Thank you for the like and the return visit!


Leave a Reply

