Other Parts

It was 9:00 Thursday night, Mom’s bedtime, and I was wheeling her back to her bedroom when she said “It’s going to be cold here tonight.”

“Yes, it is,” I agreed.  “But at least it won’t be freezing until Friday night.”

“Well it’s going to be in single digit in other parts,” she replied.

“Other parts?  Other parts of what?  The house?  The state?” I asked.

“No, other parts that aren’t here,” she said as an explanation.

“Not here?  Then where?” I asked, somewhat flustered.  “In North America?  On another planet?”

“The country,” she answered calmly.  “It’s going to be in single digits tonight in other parts of the country.  Like Michigan.”

“And why couldn’t you have said that in the first place?” I asked with a touch of irritation in my voice.

“I did.  You just didn’t listen all the way,” she said as she stood and plopped herself onto her bed.

“Well I guess that’s because my mind was on other parts!” I grumbled, parking her wheelchair and turning to leave.

“See, that’s exactly what I said the first time,” she mumbled as she pulled her five different layers of bed covers up to her chin and closed her eyes.



Leave a Reply

