No Dessert in Alabama

There are a number of BP commercials that tout the joys of vacationing on the Gulf coast.  Chamber of Commerce spokespeople from Florida, Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi all extoll the wonders of their beaches and the beautiful clear waters.  We were eating dinner the other night and one of the flavors of this ad had just finished airing when Mom perked up and asked, “Why don’t they have dessert in Alabama?”

In mid-bite, Bill and I looked across the room at each other over the tops of our hamburger buns.

“Don’t you think they’d lose a lot of customers if none of the restaurants served dessert?” she continued.

“Why would you think there’s no dessert in Alabama?” I asked.

“Because that’s what they say on that ad,” she replied.  “I’ve seen it more than once.  Maybe it’s a health thing,” she concluded with a shrug.

“Okay, if you say so,” I said, as I added a BP commercial web search to my mental to-do list.  Bill, however, beat me to it.

A couple of hours after dinner I was watching TV and he was watching BP commercials on the Internet with his Fire.

“Found it!” he shouted suddenly.  “Look, look, here it is.”  He handed me the tablet and I watched the familiar – but, up until now, mostly ignored – ad unfold in my lap.  And there it was – the very last line of the commercial.  An actor/chef was holding up a piece of lemon meringue pie and said, with a wink and a grin, “… and no dessert in Louisiana!”

I’m not quite sure what that’s supposed to mean – other than a tongue-in-cheek reference to the great food for which Louisiana is famous.  But, what it means to my mom is, there’s no dessert in Alabama!

behind_the_scenes_at_cooking_with_chef_dominick_lg_clr


10 Comments on “No Dessert in Alabama”

  1. Amanda Nicole Bartlett says:

    You know, I thought the same thing when I saw this commercial. Still, I’ve found nothing about why they supposedly have no dessert. You could be right about being too full from dinner!

    • Patt says:

      Bill and I finally got it. After turning up the volume (so us old folks can hear), the line is: “Say Louisiana – or no dessert.” So it’s not an announcement that Louisiana has banned desserts, it’s a (mock) threat. We still think it’s kind of stupid, but I guess that’s why we’re not in advertising and PR. Thanks for reading my blog and I hope you continue to come back.

      • David k says:

        I believe it’s ” say Louisiana or there’s no dessert”

      • Patt says:

        You’re absolutely right. After turning up the volume, Bill and I finally heard it correctly. I’m amazed at the number of people who have searched on this. I don’t feel too badly since lots of folks seem confused by this ad. Hope you enjoyed my blog and will come back again.

  2. Kathy says:

    Thanks for clearing that up. I couldn’t undersand why Louisiana had no dessert.

  3. john whyman says:

    It’s an advertising trick. Getting attention is their goal, and getting us to wonder about a stupid comment, then searching the net lets them know the commercial has done it’s job.

  4. Patt says:

    Me too. After writing my blog for over a year and a half, this is the most hits I’ve gotten – and all because of this crazy, nonsensical ad. Hope folks at least got a chuckle and maybe will come back for more.

  5. BEB says:

    Glad you all were having this conversation because my wife and I heard the commercial and wondered, what in the world does that mean? I called our friends from LA and they had never heard of there being “no dessert in Louisiana”. We all thought, what a sad place to visit with no dessert. But perhaps the guy’s accent garbled the words he was actually saying. At least that is your story and I’m sticking to it. Nice work.

    • Patt says:

      Bill and I think they’ve redone the ad because it’s much clearer now that he’s saying “say Louisiana or there’s no dessert.” I think BP inadvertently stumbled onto a great idea – say something so outrageously stupid that people actually pay more attention to it than a rationale statement like “no, its Louisiana with the best desserts in the world!”


Leave a Reply

