Grandpa’s Uterus

I went to the hospital to visit Mom after her fall.  She was put in an observation wing so they could run more tests to try to figure out why she gets dizzy.  We were having a discussion about the last time she’d been hospitalized.

“I had back surgery, but that was a long time ago when you were in high school,” she mused.  “I can’t remember if I was ever in a hospital after that.  You know, no one in our family seems to spend a lot of time in hospitals.”

“Really?” I responded.  “What about grandma?  She had a double mastectomy.”

“No she didn’t.  She only had a single.  Plus she died from that other kind of cancer.”

“Pancreatic,” I replied.  “Didn’t she have a hysterectomy?”

“Yes.  Oh, and so did I.” she brightened.  “That’s the last time I was in a hospital… in the mid-seventies.”

“Plus grandpa had his gall bladder taken out,” I added.  “I remember because just a few months later Dave and I both had to go through it.”

“No, my dad had gall stones,” she argued.

“I know.  So did I and so did your son.  That’s why we all had to have our gall bladder removed.”

“Oh, okay.  And then they took out your grandpa’s uterus, too,” she informed me with a nod.  “I think that’s what killed him.”

As she calmly nibbled on the cookie she’d saved from her lunch tray, I choked down the laughter bubbling up from a spot somewhere around where my gall bladder used to be before replying, “Yup, that would have done it alright!”

2 Comments on “Grandpa’s Uterus”

  1. Karen Riley says:

    Cuz, Grandpa’s uterus probably lost his uterus because he stood on his head every day. Wouldn’t have happened if he’d stayed upright.

  2. Karen Riley says:

    What I meant to say is that Grandpa probably lost his uterus because he stood on his head every day. Wouldn’t have happened if he’d stayed upright. Pardon the unintentional garbled reply, please.


Leave a Reply

