The Lone Tweeter

Bill signed up for a Twitter account but now he doesn’t know what to do with it.  He doesn’t know what to Tweet, who to Tweet or why he would even want to Tweet.

“Well why did you sign up for an account?” I asked after listening to his Tweeting lament.

“I don’t know.  I thought it would be cool.”

“And is it?”

“No, it’s just sad and lonely.  I feel like I’m the lone Tweeter.” he sighed.

“Is there some way you can solicit other Tweeters.  Sort of like finding Facebook friends?”

“Maybe,” he said, scratching his chin.  “Maybe I could see if someone has a Twitter link on their Facebook wall and start there.”

“Maybe.  Or maybe you could just send your lone Tweet out into the universe and see what comes back.  After all, Mulder believed and so should you.”

“Honey, the X Files has been off the air for more than a decade.  I think if Mulder was going to hear back he would have by now.  Besides, he’s off fornicating in California now, isn’t he?”

“I guess so.  All I know is I refuse to watch him cheat on Scully.”

“You need to get over it,” he said with a loud sigh.  “The X Files is not coming back.”

“Maybe,” I pouted.  “And maybe I just need to believe.  You never know.”

Leave a Reply

