Too Much Time

A commercial came on for a downloadable program to speed up your PC and fix all of its problems.  Call me crazy, but downloading an anonymous application from someone that can afford the price of a TV ad makes me nervous.  Call me paranoid, but I can’t help but wonder what kind of spyware or tracking bug or Orwellian worm might be contain inside this seemingly helpful app.  Call me overly cautious, but I don’t even like allowing Microsoft to automatically download Windows updates except they do it in the middle of the night whenever I forget to turn off my PC.  Then they leave behind a little in-your-face message telling you that they crammed yet more fixes onto your hard drive so that it’s only a matter of time before it goes tilt and you have to buy a new computer with the newest, best ever pre-installed version of Windows.  Then the whole process starts all over again.  But I digress.

Bill and I were in the Arizona Room watching Fox – and, according to my younger brother, getting stupider as a result – when the ad for the magical PC fixer-upper came on.

“Did you see that?” Bill asked, temporarily pausing his Angry Birds game on his beloved Kindle Fire.

“See what?” I asked.

“They’re watching baseball instead of football,” he said.

“Who are you talking about?”

“The dad and daughter in this commercial.  They used to be watching football on TV, but now it’s baseball.”

“Ummm, okay sweetie,” I said.  “Maybe it was a cheap way to update the ad for summer?”

“Yeah, except she’s still got on the same stupid sweatshirt,” he noted with a triumphant nod.

“Good catch, I guess,” I responded, a hint of concern in my voice.

He glanced briefly at the TV, then back at me again.  “Too much time on my hands?” he asked somewhat sheepishly.

“Way, way too much!” I laughed.  “We need to get a life.”

Leave a Reply

