The Ghost of Steve Jobs

Mom came rushing into the office with BIG news.  “I remembered what I forgot to tell you before,” she said, bringing the pink walker from hell to an abrupt halt against my left knee cap.  “They’re going to turn off your computers today and when you turn it back on you’re supposed to look for the message.”

Bill, who was behind me working on his own PC, hunched his shoulders and started vigorously banging away on his keyboard.

“Who’s going to turn off my computer?” I asked.

“I don’t know.  The people in charge of that kind of stuff,” she said, shrugging her shoulders.

“So, some mysterious person or agency is going to turn off all the computers and when I turn mine back on there’s some kind of message?”

“No, wait, that’s not right.  The message is going to come before they turn off the computer.  You’re suppose to read it so you’ll know what to do.”

“Okay, I’ve got it now.  A message is going to flash on my computer.  I have to read it before the computer shuts off.  Then I can turn my computer back on.”

“Yes.  And then you’re suppose to follow the directions,” she added.

I glanced over my shoulder at Bill, who had Google up and was searching around for the real story.  “And where do I find these directions?” I asked.

“I don’t know.  The computer information part I guess.  You know more about this technical stuff than I do,” she said as she moved her walker backwards over my toe and turned to leave.

“I guess I can figure it out,”  I replied as she wheeled out of the room, her mission accomplished.

“Let Bill do it,” she called over her shoulder from the hall.  “He’s a lot smarter about this than you are.”

“So, you computer genius, you.  What’s the real story?” I asked after Mom was out of earshot.

“I can’t find anything even remotely close to what she said.  No new viruses, no current hacking scares, no computer spying scandals’.  I think maybe she’s channeling Steve Jobs,” he said, shaking his head.

Leave a Reply

