Mr. Winky Rides Again

Bill and I were in our bedroom with the door closed as we prepped to greet the day.  Our daily routine is pretty much the same.  After coffee and breakfast, we each lay out the clothes we’re going to wear, strip off our jammies, open the door a crack to make sure the coast is clear, then dash, butt-ass naked into our bathroom.  Usually, we do this separately, but this particular morning we were getting ready together.

I’d just piled up my clean clothes on the bed but hadn’t taken off my PJs yet, and Bill had just stripped down to his natural state when the door was flung open and Mom tooled in.

“These are broken again,” she stated, retrieving her eye glasses and the detached right stem from her walker seat and waving them in the air.

“Mom!” I yelled as Bill backed against the closet door and tried desperately to cover up Mr. Winky.  Mom glanced over at him, her gaze lingering for a brief moment before she said “Oops,” followed by a shrug and a little Momma Lisa smile as she handed Bill a small plastic box that held tiny screwdrivers and a tube of Crazy Glue.

“Don’t worry,” she said as she turned to leave the room.  “I don’t have my glasses on so I can’t really see anything… unless it’s really big.”  She left as abruptly as she came, but we could hear her chuckling as she made her way back down the hall.

“What did she mean by that?” Bill asked, obviously mortified – again.

“I don’t know, sweetie,” I said, handing him his pajama bottoms.  “but I can see Mr. Winky just fine, with or without my glasses.”

Leave a Reply

