Whether Or Not It’s Weather – Or Not

Bill had a Mom-lesson in weather forecasting the other day when I was away babysitting.  When I got home, he decided to pass along the pearls of wisdom that were bestowed upon him in my absence.

“Your Mom seemed to be pretty excited that the temperature is going down into the 60’s this weekend,” he began.  “I told her I’d believe it when I see it.”

“Did she ask why you didn’t believe it?” I said.

“Yes, and I told her it’s because the forecasts haven’t been accurate in the two years we’ve lived here and I didn’t understand why it was so hard for them to get it right.”

“And she didn’t agree?”

“She says this is one of the hardest places in the world to predict the weather because it’s the desert.”

“What does that have to do with anything?  It’s either hot or hotter or sunny or sunnier,” I said.  “And sometimes a bunch of dust blows around.”

“I know,” he agreed.  “But she says it’s much harder to predict weather in places back east, like Michigan, because of all the trees and because it’s cold.”

“Okay – but what about summer?”

“I think that’s when the trees get in the way.  Plus she said it’s all cyclical so it doesn’t matter because the weather changes over time.”

“The weather changes?  To what?  Not weather?  And what does that have to do with day to day predictions?”

“Got me hangin’,” he said with a shrug.  “Maybe it has something to do with the cold and the trees.  But that’s the way it works.”

Leave a Reply

