Neighborhood Watch

Bill and I were in our office Sunday morning and as we looked out the window, we could see our neighbor across the street trimming the hedges that spanned the front of his house.

“I wonder why John’s doing that,” I commented, watching him trying not to cut the trimmer’s electric cord.

“Because he doesn’t want to help Sue clean out the garage?” Bill offered.

“Maybe.  But weren’t his landscape guys there a week or so ago?” I asked.

“They were there on the third,” Bill said nonchalantly.

My fingers paused on the keyboard and I slowly turned around in my chair to face him.  “You know the date his yard guys show up?” I asked somewhat incredulously.

“Yup,” he said.  “They show up the third of every month.  And Wes and Gizella’s guys show up on the tenth.  My life has devolved into looking out the window at the neighbors and dreaming of killing rabbits.”

“Oh my God,” I exclaimed.  “We have to get you a life!”

“Okay,” he sighed, returning his focus on John and his hedge trimmers.  “Let me know what you come up with.  In the meantime, I’m taking bets on whether or not John cuts the power cord in half before he’s done trimming.  You want in on the action?”

Leave a Reply

