No Goats Allowed

I help out my son, Ryan, and daughter-in-law, Jamie, by babysitting our newest grandchild 3 days a week.  It’s a great job because Olivia is the absolute perfect baby.  We lived out-of-state when our other grandchildren were babies, so this is a real treat.  My son just accepted a new job so his hours are changing from working a graveyard shift to working days.  As a result, they need a full time sitter and, since I would still like to enjoy part of my retirement, they’re going to hire someone to work three days and I’ll fill in the other two.  Plus, I get to help Jamie with the interviews since I can’t have just anyone taking care of my granddaughter.

I was explaining to Mom that I’d be watching Olivia for six hours a day, two days a week instead of four hours a day, three days a week and Jamie would be getting a nanny.

“Well I don’t think that’s allowed,” she said, munching on her breakfast banana.

“Not allowed?” I asked.  “What do you mean, not allowed?” I asked, totally confused.

“They live in the city,” she explained.  “If they lived in the country – you know, out in the desert someplace, it would be different.  But they can’t do that in the city.”

“Do what?”

“Have a goat.  I’ve heard of chickens, but I think a goat would be too big and it wouldn’t be allowed.  Neither would a cow.”

“Goat?  Cow?” I asked.  “What in the world are you talking about.”

“You said they were getting a goat.”

“Who, who’s getting a goat?” I almost shouted, rethinking my choice of a third cup of coffee.

“Jamie and Ryan,” she said, matter-of-factly, switching from the banana to a breakfast granola bar.

“When did I say they were getting a goat, for heaven sakes?”

“Just now.  You said you had to help them pick one out.  And I said they can’t have on in the city.”

“A nanny, Mom.  Not a nanny goat.  A nanny!”

“Oh, that’s different.  They can have one of those.  Just make sure it isn’t a pervert nanny like you see on TV.”

“I’ll do that, Mom.  No pervert nannies.  I promise.”

2 Comments on “No Goats Allowed”

  1. notquiteold says:

    Your mom is a trip! (Do they still say “trip?”)


Leave a Reply

