Old Cowboys Never Die – They Just Get De-ranged

We were watching a piece about rodeo’s on a morning new program this week.  The featured rodeo was held in Montana and it was more akin to mud wrestling since the event was held in a downpour.  Mom’s comments were peppered with “Yuk,” “Oh my gosh, what a mess,” “Good Grief,” and various combinations, including “Good grief, what a mess,” Oh my gosh, what a yukky mess,” “Oh good gosh grief” and so on.

During what was obviously a carnage of mud, slime and filthy cowboys, she commented “You know, I think when Arizona started out they had cowboys here.”

“Well, this is the West, Mom,” I commented back.

“I know, but I think there were quite a few of them here.”

“You think?”

“Yes, I do, at least before all the easterners moved in.”

2 Comments on “Old Cowboys Never Die – They Just Get De-ranged”

  1. Quite an astute observation–and this is coming from one of those easterners! great little post!

    • Patt says:

      Thanks Lorna. My Mom’s just full of “astute” observations, which is what prompted me to start blogging about it. I’m glad you enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

