Tennis Anyone?

While we were eating dinner the other night, the local news had a teaser about an upcoming Wimbledon story for the sports segment of the broadcast.

“I wonder where they play that now?” Mom said.

“Play what?  Wimbledon?” I asked, somewhat confused.

“Yes, I wonder where they have it nowadays.”

“At Wimbledon in England,” I replied.  “Just like they always do.  Why, where else do you think it would be?”

“Oh, I don’t know.  I didn’t know if they moved it someplace else for a change.”

“Then I guess it wouldn’t be called Wimbledon anymore,” Bill piped in.

“I don’t know about that.  They still call it the Daytona 500 but it’s somewhere else,” she retorted.

“It is?” Bill said.

“Where?” I asked.

“I’m not sure, but I know they moved it from Indiana to another place – somewhere around Illinois.  Or one of those Carolinas.”

Leave a Reply

