Hairdresser Math

On the way to the hairdresser, Mom commented on how pleased she was that her perm had lasted for four months.

“You know, they usually only last three months” she said.  “I looked in my checkbook this morning and I got this perm on February 7th.”

“But Mom, this is May 6th, so it’s only been three months, not four,” I said.

“No, it’s four,” she countered.  “February, March, April and May.  Four.”

“But this is only May 6th,” I replied, holding up fingers.  “February 7 to March 7 is one; March 7 to April 7 is two; April 7 to May 7 is three.”

“You have to count February as a month,” she argued.  “So its four.”

“No it isn’t,” I said, counting on my fingers again.  “February to March, March to April, April to May.  Three months.  It won’t be four until June.”

“But you have to count May as a month.  February, March, April, May.  Four months!”

My silence must have indicated agreement because the next response was a satisfied “Humf.”

Leave a Reply

